Suicide – No Judgment, No Guilt, No Blame

Depression's Collateral Damage

Not long ago I read a piece about suicide, which focused on the emotions of those left behind.  I’m thankful this is not an experience I’ve had to live through,.  And because I haven’t had this experience, I can’t say for sure how I would feel if I were in those shoes.  But here is an important statement Bern and I were given when we were interviewing both a psychiatrist and a psychologist for the purposes of “Let Me Sow Light: Living With a Depressed Spouse.”  We’ve both gone back to these words again and again in our work with people who care for a depressed person:

Suicide is, sadly, sometimes the fatal outcome of the illness called depression.

In other words, sometimes people die from depression.  Sometimes people die of cancer, or diabetes, or any number of other illnesses. When people die of most illnesses  there is no blame assigned, family members rarely feel…

View original post 508 more words

Hi there! Feel Free to Comment!

