Slow Cooked Steak Casserole

I love food! I genuinely believer that eating is one of life’s greatest pleasures. Eating a beautifully cooked meal is something that little can beat. I’m fortunate to be married to Jane, who is a trained chef, and is a wonderful cook. I, however, am strictly amateur. I do cook, but my repertoire is very limited! I enjoy a bowl of pasta with mushrooms, onions, chilli, chorizo, salami in a tomato sauce. Its not very technical, and its something I enjoy. But, I encountered a fab recipe on http://scottishmum.com – a slow cooked steak casserole! It takes little preparation, and being cooked in a slow cooker, can be left once its put on. I’ve adapted it a little -

Here it goes!

Preparation time: 15 minutes
Cooking time: 8 hours
Serves: Up to six

Ingredients
600g steak, diced easiest.
2 Onions (finely chopped)
6 potatoes (chopped)
6 carrots (chopped)
4 good-sized mushrooms
2 stock pots (Knorr/Bisto) – 1 might be enough, but 2 gives a good, rich flavour
2 tablespoons of Worcester sauce
1 litre water

Dice steak (if not pre-diced), potatoes, onions, mushrooms and carrots. Put the water in the slow cooker, and add steak and vegetables and put it on at a low heat for 8 hours in total.. After a couple of hours or so, add the stock pots, and leave. About 30 – 60 minutes before its ready, add the Worcestershire sauce. Use gravy granules to thicken if needed (I found it to be quite runny, so thickening really a must.)

All that remains is to serve and enjoy!

About Neil Ritchie

Hi there. I'm the parent of 2 boys on the autism spectrum, which can be challenging! I tend to ramble on about the challenge I share with Jane, and just about anything that comes to mind!
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slow Cooked Steak Casserole

  1. neiley101 says:

    Minor update…the recipe has been tried by a couple of readers with positive feedback! If you’ve liked it, feel free to leave a reply to let me know!

  2. Pingback: An Aspergers Attention to Detail. | theworldofneil

  3. Pingback: BBQ Time | theworldofneil

  4. Pingback: Food, Glorious Food | theworldofneil

  5. Pingback: Fussy Eater Surprises | theworldofneil

Leave a Reply

